Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite

I'm a member of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, Valley of Hartford, in Newington, Connecticut.

The Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite is an appendant body of Freemasonry. Any Master Mason in good standing may join the Scottish Rite to learn more about and further explore the principles of Freemasonry.

Spes Mea in Deo Est

The main goal of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, for all its members, is simple: to be made better than ourselves. It also seeks to strengthen and enrich the community.

In the United States, the Scottish Rite is officially recognized by Grand Lodges as an extension of the degrees of Freemasonry. The Scottish Rite builds upon the ethical and philosophical teaching of the craft lodge, or Blue lodge, through dramatic presentation of the individual degrees.

Supreme Council

The Scottish Rite is governed in each country by a Supreme Council. In the United States, there are two Supreme Councils. The Supreme Council, Northern Masonic Jurisdiction (NMJ) is located in Lexington, Massachusetts, and governs the states of Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, Rhode Island, New York, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Delaware, Wisconsin, Michigan, Indiana, Illinois and Ohio.

The Supreme Council, Southern Masonic Jurisdiction (SMJ) is located in Washington, D. C. and governs all other states in the Union.

In the Northern Masonic Jurisdiction, the organization at the individual state level is referred to as a "Council of Deliberation", and the local bodies are called "Valleys". In the Southern Masonic Jurisdiction, while the local bodies are still called Valleys, the state organizations are called "Orients".

In Connecticut, more information about the Connecticut Council of Deliberation maybe be found at the Council's website.

See the History page for further information on Scottish Rite history in the United States.

Charitable Endeavors

The Scottish Rite is involved in four main charitable efforts. These are in keeping with their goal of enriching the community.

The Scottish Rite Schizophrenia Research Program presents up to 15 fellowships for shizophrenia research to postgraduate students preparing dissertations in fields related to discovering a cure for the disease. More information can be found in the Philanthropy section of the Supreme Council website (

The 32nd Degree Learning Centers for Children with Dyslexia provide tutoring for children with dyslexia. Additionally, they train highly skilled and dedicated tutors. More information can be found in the Philanthropy section of the Supreme Council website (

The Leon Abbott Scholarships provide academic financial assistance to children and grandchildren of Scottish Rite Masons. More information can be found in the Philanthropy section of the Supreme Council website (

The National Heritage Museum, located in Lexington, MA next to the Supreme Council headquaters provide exhibits dedicated to our American heritage, interspersed with the role of our fraternity in American life. It is open seven days a week, to the public, at no admission charge. More information can be found in the Philanthropy section of the Supreme Council website (

Valley Organization

Each Valley has up to four subordinate bodies that confer the degrees of Scottish Rite Freemasonry. In the Northren Masonic Jurisdiction, candidates do not take all the degrees in sequence. Instead, they are required to receive the 4th and 14th, 15th or 165th, 18th, and 31st and 32nd degrees. A Valley must portray all the degrees over a six year period, so brethren are encouraged to attend portrayals often, in order to eventually see all the degrees.

The Lodge of Perfection confers the 4th through the 14th degrees.

The Council of Princes of Jerusalem confers the 15th and 16th degrees.

The Chapter of Rose Croix confers the 17th and 18th degrees.

The Consistory confers the 19th through the 32nd degrees.

More information on each body can be found by clicking the appropriate link in the navigation panel.